Eau Claire County will receive Sustainable Eau Claire Awards

Post Date:05/30/2017 2:07 PM

City of Eau Claire
5/11/17  Press Release

Sustainable Eau Claire Awards

The second annual Sustainable Eau Claire awards will be issued by the City of Eau Claire’s Sustainability Advisory Committee and City Council President on World Environmental Day, June 5, 2017. The awards recognize individuals, businesses, and organizations that are making a difference and creating a more sustainable Eau Claire.

Winners for 2017 are as follows: 
Clean-Up or Beautification – Phillips-Medisize Corporation 
Energy: Renewables, Efficiency or Conservation – David Donovan, Xcel Energy 
Environmental Education – Erin LaFaive, UW-Extension, Eau Claire County
Environmental Education – Ashlea Orth, UW-Eau Claire 
Exceptional Natural Resources Steward – The Oxbow Hotel 
Exceptional Natural Resources Steward – Eau Claire County
Student Leadership – Ethan Fuhrman, UW-Eau Claire 
Student Leadership – Anneka Johnson, UW-Eau Claire 
Student Leadership – Laiken Peterson, UW-Eau Claire 
Sustainable City Staff – Mike Schatz 
Waste Reduction, Composting or Recycling – First Choice Computer Recycling, Inc.

The award ceremony will be held at Eau Claire City Hall, 203 S. Farwell St. on June 5th at 11:00 a.m. in the North Conference Room. Awards are being made from reused city street trees by Eco Urban Timber, LLC. Please visit the City’s program website or search under “Sustainable Eau Claire Awards” on the City’s homepage for more information.

In keeping with World Environment Day’s theme of “Connecting People to Nature”, the City is encouraging local residents and businesses to get out and experience nature in our beautiful city. Take a photo of you, your family, friends, or co-workers connecting with nature in our local parks, open spaces, forests, hills, rivers, and lakes, for possible inclusion on the City’s social media sites or on other marketing materials. Submit photos (under 10 MB size limit) by June 4th to Ned Noel, Associate Planner at, 715-839-8488.

Return to full list >>