When a landowner has three years of delinquent unpaid taxes Eau Claire County starts the tax deed proceedings as described in Wisconsin State Statute 75.12. 

The County will first send out a Notice of Application for Issue of Tax Deed via certified mail.  This is to notify the owner as well as any mortgagees, land contract vendors, occupants and interested parties that the County will  proceed with taking the property if taxes are not paid.  This notice will be issued for the oldest year of delinquent tax, special assessment and special charge amounts due.  

The owner is then given three months from the date of the receipt of the notice to pay the taxes, special assessments, and special charges along with the included interest and penalty for that year.

If the owner does not sign for a copy of the notice by certified mail the notice may be served by a Sheriff’s deputy or the County will publish the notice in the paper.  The three month period in which to pay will begin on the latest date of the publication. 

Once the three month period has expired and if the taxes remain unpaid, the County can file a tax deed on the property transferring it into the County’s name.

The former owner, a legal heir or Mortgagee has 30 days to request the right to purchase the property back from the County.   If the former owner chooses to buy back the property the request will be submitted for approval by the county board.  If the board approves the sale the owner has 30 days to pay all of the past due taxes, interest, penalties and expenses owed on the property.

 If the former owner, legal heir or Mortgagee does not purchase the property back, the property will be listed in a tax deed sale.  According to Wisconsin State Statutes the former owner may be entitled to a share of the remaining net proceeds of the sale of the property if it was their homestead and they have lived there any time during the 5 years preceding the county’s acquisition of it. If they wish to request payment of these proceeds they must request, in writing, within 60 days of receipt of letter notifying them that a tax deed was taken that they wish the county to pay them a share of the proceeds.  If they do not request in writing, within 60 days, payment of these proceeds, they forfeit all claim to those proceeds.



for sale 

Click above for information on current listings of tax deed property for sale by the county




Click for a copy of a bidding sheet




Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer